Board of Trustees
President - Cinde Thomas-Jimenez (District 3)

Cinde Thomas-Jimenez is a graduate of Southwest Texas State University, earning a Bachelors of Science in Education and a Masters of Applied Geography.  She is a certified teacher and taught in Seguin ISD for 10 years.  She has also taught classes at various universities in the region and has been working in the field of Environmental Education since 1991.  She currently works for the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority as the Environmental Education Administrator.  Mrs. Thomas-Jimenez is a current Board Member of the Seguin Education Foundation, Irma Lewis Seguin Outdoor Learning Center, Guadalupe Chapter of the Master Naturalists and the Guadalupe River Foundation.  She is married to Fred Jimenez and they have two grown children, both products of Seguin ISD and proud graduates of Seguin HS.  The Jimenez family attends St. Andrews Episcopal Church.


Her current term expires November 2020.

Vice President - Carl Jenkins (District 1)


Mr. Jenkins is a native of Boling, Texas and a graduate of Boling High School. After training as an Emergency Medical Technician, he became a registered nurse at the Baptist Health System School of Professional Nursing. Currently he is an employee of Resolute Health in New Braunfels in the Emergency Department. Mr. Jenkins is an active member of New Braunfels Church of Christ, where he heads the Missions Committee. He has traveled extensively doing mission work, spreading the Gospel of Christ. He is a member of the Guadalupe Masonic Lodge 109, where he served as Lodge master in 2015. He is also a member of The Shriners. In his free time, Mr. Jenkins enjoys being outdoors and spending time with his family. Carl met his wife Marylin Cooper-Jenkins in Seguin, where she has had her dental practice for the past 21 years. His older son, Colton, is a Seguin graduate and his younger son Carson currently attends Seguin High School.


His current term expires November 2020.

Secretary - Benito Amador (District 6)

1014 N. Bowie St.; Seguin, Texas 78155


Ben Amador is a 1969 graduate of Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University) where he earned a degree in Economics. He grew up attending Seguin schools. He is a veteran of the United States Air Force. While in the Air Force he received special training and became a combination Radar Operator and Radar Maintenance Technician during the Vietnam War. Mr. Amador retired after working 30 years as a Benefits Investigator for the United States Department of Labor. After returning to Seguin he became an active property manager. Now semi-retired, he still owns and manages several rental properties in Seguin. He is active in the community and stays abreast of local issues, especially those dealing with the youth of this community.


His current term expires November 2020.


Trustee - Ishmael Flores (District 2)
800 Boenig St.; Seguin, TX 78155

Mr. Flores was elected to the Board in 1999. He is the IT Manager for Continental Automotive Systems in Seguin. A graduate of Seguin High School and Southwest Texas State University where he majored in manufacturing technology, Mr. Flores is Master Board Certified and a member of the School Board Advocacy Network and the Mexican-America School Board Association (MASBA).  He also serves as the chairman of the Seguin ISD Diversity Council. A veteran, Mr. Flores is married to Mona Flores and they have a child who graduated from Seguin HS and another who is a current student.

His current term expires November 2018.

Trustee - John Holt (District 4)
245 Buerger Ln.; Seguin, TX 78155

Mr. Holt is a 1989 graduate of North Mesquite High School and a six year veteran of the U.S. Naval Reserves. At Southwest Texas State University, he earned an AAS in respiratory therapy and a Bachelor of Science in respiratory care to become a registered Respiratory Therapist. Currently, Mr. Holt is a licensed contractor in Seguin and owner of a handyman and remodeling company. He is also a Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist. His wife Christy is a librarian and he is the proud father of two daughters who are enrolled in Seguin ISD schools. He is a member of First United Methodist Church of Seguin where he volunteers on several committees.

His current term expires November 2018.

Trustee - Barbara Effenberger (District 5)
601 E. Weinert St.;  Seguin, TX  78155

Mrs. Effenberger was elected to the Board in 2012. She is a retired educator who served as an elementary school teacher and guidance counselor in Seguin ISD for 23 years. She is a graduate of Texas Lutheran University and acquired post graduate studies at TAMU and Texas State. In 2006 she was awarded the TLU Alumni Distinguished Service Award in Church and Community. She served on the Texas Silver-Haired Legislature, as Guadalupe County Democratic Party County Chairman, leader in RSVP Advisory Council and as a CASA volunteer. She continues to actively advocate for improving funding for Texas public schools and benefits for educators and retired teachers. She is committed to seeing that every child is given an opportunity to learn the skills needed to have a successful future. She is married to Don Effenberger, also a retired teacher.
Her current term expires November 2018.

Trustee - Elaina Reihl (District 7)


Elaina Reihl is a graduate of North Kitsap High School in Poulsbo, Washington. She graduated from vocational school in Washington and Arizona. She is a business owner, having owned and operated her salon and spa since 2006. She is married to Copeland Reihl and they are the proud parents of two sons, both of whom are graduates of Seguin High School. Mrs. Reihl has been an active volunteer for the past 20 years, serving the students and teachers of Seguin ISD. She has served on the PTC as a volunteer and president and was a longtime Destination Imagination coach.


Her current term expires November 2018.